Letting the Neighbors Inspire Me

Like everyone I’ve been reading blogs.  There are quite a few that I found interesting, funny, depressing, serious, whack-a-doodle, exciting, pompous, and any number of other adjectives.  One that particularly interested me was by Miss Understood (gotta love that name).  See the link to her post below.  She writes haiku, but this particular post, “Smelt thoughts. Forge prose.” is about the process of writing (she focused on “therapeutic” writing) and how it can shape and define our thoughts and opinions.  She talked about different types of writing, and how much effort, editing and polishing we put into different pieces and how they serve different purposes.  She also discussed the differences of blogging vs. journaling privately.

This made me think.  Ouch. Ok, just kidding, sort of.  I went off on a bit of a tangent from the post I read, but that’s not a bad thing.  So here are a few of my thoughts on writing:

First off, I’m lazy and have a short attention span.  So if I’m writing for an audience, I think maybe they are too, and I try to keep my posts shortish.  I also tend to use humor or sarcasm because, 1. that’s my personality, 2. I think it’s an effective way to get a point across, 3. there is enough deadly serious stuff out there already, 4. when I take myself too seriously I think I sound like a pompous ass, 5. it’s more fun.

Next, when I start writing about something it forces me to think more deeply about the subject, and organize my thoughts.  I think back in the day, when public figures wrote essays about current events it informed both the reader and the writer.  And it worries me that today our politicians deal, not essays, but sound bites. Ten seconds and 140 characters are simply not enough.  And this is coming from me, the lazy one with the short attention span!

Finally, writing is a way of going deeper or farther or both.  And you can choose which you prefer to read and to write. How cool is that?

Thanks to Miss Understood for getting me thinking about this with her post:

https://keepkaryn.wordpress.com/2015/02/10/smelt-thoughts-forge-prose/

6 thoughts on “Letting the Neighbors Inspire Me

Leave a Reply

